Lisbon Community Consolidated Grade School

Ranked in the top 2% of schools in Illinois

Superintendent: Melanie L. Elias

Board of Education:

Jason Carlson – President Scott Wallin – Vice President Brian Hatteberg – Secretary Josh Friestad – Treasurer Kerry Carlson – Member Eric Friestad – Member Mark Long – Member District No. 90 127 S. Canal St. Newark, IL 60541 Phone (815) 736-6324 Fax (815) 736-6326 Ranked an Exemplary School
2017-2018

Nominated Blue Ribbon School
2015 – 2016

Illinois Bright A+ Award Winner
2012 – 2013

Illinois Bright Star Award Winner
2012 – 2013

Illinois Academic Excellence
Award Winner
2009 – 2010 – 2011 – 2012

BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES December 9, 2019

Prior to the regular board meeting, a tax rate hearing was conducted.

The meeting was opened at 7:01 P.M.

Board Members present: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, and Brian Hatteberg.

Mark Long was absent.

Tax Rate information was presented and discussed.

Questions from board members answered.

Patrons present-Lisa Jacobson.

Hearing was closed at 7:05 P.M.

A Board of Education meeting was called to order at 7:06 P.M., after the Pledge of Allegiance. The roll call found the following board members present: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, and Brian Hatteberg. Mark Long was absent.

Recognition of visitors: Lisa Jacobson.

A motion was made by Jason Carlson and seconded by Kerry Friestad to approve the November 11, 2019 Board of Education Open and Closed Minutes, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, and Brian Hatteberg.

A motion was made by Scott Wallin and seconded by Eric Friestad to approve the November, 2019 Treasurer's Reports, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, and Brian Hatteberg.

Mrs. Elias presented the December bills and the November payroll.

A motion was made by Eric Friestad and seconded by Josh Friestad to approve December bills, bills paid since the November board meeting and the November payroll, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, and Brian Hatteberg.

The Board reviewed the Activity Account, the Investments, and the Financial Report for the month of November.

A motion was made by Jason Carlson and seconded by Scott Wallin to approve the Activity Account, Investments for November, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, and Brian Hatteberg.

A motion was made by Jason Carlson and seconded by Brian Hatteberg to approve the Financial Report, Check Register, and Balance Sheet for November, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, and Brian Hatteberg.

A motion was made by Josh Friestad and seconded by Scott Wallin to approve the Tax Rate on the Certificate of Tax Levy, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, and Brian Hatteberg.

A motion was made by Scott Wallin and seconded by Brian Hatteberg to release the Executive Session minutes for September and October of 2019, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, and Brian Hatteberg.

The November staff absences, student lunch and attendance were presented to the board.

A motion was made by Jason Carlson and seconded by Josh Friestad to approve the facility use for Monica Williams contingent on no conflict with any scheduled school activities, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, and Brian Hatteberg.

A motion was made by Scott Wallin and seconded by Kerry Carlson to accept the resignation of Nels Mathre as Lisbon's Soccer coach, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, and Brian Hatteberg.

A motion was made by Kerry Carlson and seconded by Eric Friestad to approve the vacation day for Melanie Elias on December 20, 2019, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, and Brian Hatteberg.

CLOSED MEETING MINUTES

Month: December Day 9 Year 2019

MOTION TO ADJOURN TO CLOSED MEETING:

Executive Session: A motion was made by Eric Friestad and seconded by Brian Hatteberg to adjourn to Executive Session to discuss the Employment, Compensation, Discipline, Performance, or Dismissal of Non-Certified and Certified Employees or Students of the Lisbon Community Consolidated School District.

• Specifically to discuss Collective Bargaining

ROLL CALL:

"Yeas": Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad,

Josh Friestad, and Brian Hatteberg.

"Nays": None.

Motion carried: Time 8:18 P.M.

MEMBERS PRESENT AT CLOSED MEETING

The following members answered roll call at 8:18 P.M., at the closed meeting.

ROLL CALL: Present: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad,

Josh Friestad, and Brian Hatteberg.

Absent: none

RETURN TO OPEN MEETING

A motion was made by Eric Friestad and seconded by Jason Carlson, at 10:05 P.M. to return to open meeting.

ROLL CALL:

"Yeas": Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad,

Josh Friestad, and Brian Hatteberg.

"Nays": None.

A motion was made by Scott Wallin and seconded by Josh Friestad to approve the hourly pay increase for Lisbon's Bus Drivers starting December 20, 2019, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ay Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, and Brian Hatt	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
A motion was made by Jason Carlson and seconded 10:10 P.M.	by Scott Wallin to adjourn the meeting
Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, and Brian Hatteberg.	
BOARD PRESIDENT	BOARD SECRETARY
DATE	DATE

at