Lisbon Community Consolidated Grade School

Ranked in the top 2% of schools in Illinois

Superintendent: Melanie L. Elias

Board of Education:

Jason Carlson – President Scott Wallin – Vice President Brian Hatteberg – Secretary Josh Friestad – Treasurer Kerry Carlson – Member Eric Friestad – Member Mark Long – Member District No. 90 127 S. Canal St. Newark, IL 60541 Phone (815) 736-6324 Fax (815) 736-6326 Ranked an Exemplary School
2017-2018

Nominated Blue Ribbon School
2015 – 2016

Illinois Bright A+ Award Winner
2012 – 2013

Illinois Bright Star Award Winner
2012 – 2013

Illinois Academic Excellence
Award Winner
2009 – 2010 – 2011 – 2012

BOARD OF EDUCATION
MINUTES
July 13, 2020

A Board of Education meeting was called to order at 7:01 P.M., after the Pledge of Allegiance. The roll call found the following board members present: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Brian Hatteberg and Mark Long. Josh Friestad was absent.

Recognition of visitors: Dawn Dike, Carley Kenney, Kris DeGraaf, Jen Chelsen, Caitlin Delaney, Nicole Bols, Michelle Salato, Katie & Ryan Sievers, Megan Gunier, Amy Schierbaum, Tracy Zabel.

The Board listened to parent comments regarding the plan for the 2020-2021 school year.

- They asked how was the committee formed and who was chosen to serve on committee?
 - o Mrs. Elias explained the process in detail and that the committee would meet Wednesday, July 15, 2020.
- Also asked was when will the plan be released to parents?
 - o Information and plan will be given to parents after the August 3, 2020 board meeting.
- Teacher and Parent had questions regarding Air Conditioning. They asked about window Units, Parents buying window units, would school consider installing, they also asked about rechargeable AC unit. Could Walk-a-thon money be used for AC units?
 - Mrs. Elias will contact 1-2 electricians to see if AC is a possibility for Lisbon wither it be window units, portable AC units
- Parents asked about starting the school year late, any immunocompromised teachers at Lisbon? Would we be hiring any more teachers? Thoughts about a hybrid schedule.
- Do we have a plan for if students or staff comes down with COVID? What about larger classes like 1st Grade, how will they stay 6 feet apart?

A motion was made by Eric Friestad and seconded by Mark Long to approve the June 15, 2020 Board of Education Open Minutes, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Brian Hatteberg, and Mark Long.

Josh Friestad entered the meeting via ZOOM at 7:50 P.M

The purchase of new computers was tabled until after Mrs. Elias has information regarding if AC units are a possibility.

A motion was made by Jason Carlson and seconded by Scott Wallin to accept Barb Scott's resignation, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, Brian Hatteberg, and Mark Long.

A motion was made by Jason Carlson and seconded by Mark Long to approve the hiring of Theresa Hanson for the 6th grade social studies position, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, Brian Hatteberg, and Mark Long.

A motion was made by Eric Friestad and seconded by Scott Wallin to approve the 2020-2021 salary for Crystal Monsess as head cook and the hourly rate for Deb Carlson as an assistant cook for two days per week for the 2020-2021 school year, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Scott Wallin, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad and Brian Hatteberg. Jason Carlson and Kerry Carlson abstained from voting.

A motion was made by Jason Carlson and seconded by Brian Hatteberg to approve the 1:30 dismissals until Labor Day, as presented.

Lost Josh Friestad on ZOOM at 8:15 P.M.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Brian Hatteberg, and Mark Long.

Josh Friestad returned via ZOOM at 8:20 P.M.

A motion was made by Eric Friestad and seconded by Kerry Carlson to approve the updates for the 2020-2021 school calendar to include November 3, 2020 as a mandated no school in session for Election Day and to return the attending of school with a 1:30 dismissal on Wednesday, November 25, 2020, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, Brian Hatteberg, and Mark Long.

A motion was made by Mark Long and seconded by Scott Wallin to approve vacation days for Melanie Elias, August 10-14, 2020, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, Brian Hatteberg, and Mark Long.

A motion was made by Jason Carlson and seconded by Scott Wallin to approve the 2020- 2021 hourly rate for Emma Smith, as presented.

MOTION TO ADJOURN TO CLOSED MEETING:

Executive Session: A motion was made by Jason Carlson and seconded by Scott Wallin to adjourn to Executive Session to discuss the Employment, Compensation, Discipline, Performance, or Dismissal of Non-Certified and Certified Employees or Students of the Lisbon Community Consolidated School District.

ROLL CALL:

"Yeas": Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad,

Josh Friestad, Brian Hatteberg, and Mark Long.

"Nays": None.

Motion carried: Time 8:35 P.M.

MEMBERS PRESENT AT CLOSED MEETING

The following members answered roll call at 8:35 P.M., at the closed meeting.

ROLL CALL: Present: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad,

Josh Friestad, Brian Hatteberg, and Mark Long.

Absent: none

RETURN TO OPEN MEETING

A motion was made by Jason Carlson and seconded by Mark Wallin, at 10:00 P.M. to return to open meeting.

ROLL CALL:

"Yeas": Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad,

Josh Friestad, Brian Hatteberg, and Mark Long.

"Nays": None.

A motion was made by Jason Carlson and seconded by Scott Wallin to adjourn the meeting at 10:09 P.M.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Jason Carlson, Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, Brian Hatteberg, and Mark Long.

BOARD PRESIDENT	BOARD SECRETARY
DATE	DATE