Lisbon Community Consolidated Grade

Superintendent: Melanie L. Elias

Board of Education:
Scott Wallin – President
Eric Friestad – Vice President
Kerry Carlson – Secretary
Josh Friestad – Treasurer
Eric Andersen – Member
Brian Hatteberg – Member
Seth Swenson – Member

Ranked in the top 2% of schools in Illinois

District No. 90 127 S. Canal St. Newark, IL 60541 Phone (815) 736-6324 Fax (815) 736-6326 Ranked an Exemplary School 2017-2021 Nominated Blue Ribbon School 2015 – 2016 Illinois Bright A+ Award Winner 2012 – 2013 Illinois Bright Star Award Winner 2012 – 2013

BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES August 9, 2021

A Board of Education meeting was called to order at 7:00 P.M., after the Pledge of Allegiance. The roll call found the following board members present: Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, Josh Friestad, Eric Andersen, Brian Hatteberg and Seth Swenson. Eric Friestad was absent.

Eric Friestad arrived at 7:04 P.M.

Recognition of visitors: Jim Peters, representative for Zuwkoski Law Firm, Brian Zabel, Ryan Sievers, Emma Smith, Chris Nelson, Jason Kempiak, Heidi Kempiak, Caitlyn Delaney, Scott Friestad, Kristin Friestad, Kristi Mathre, Nels Mathre, Aaron Westerfield, Stephanie Westerfield, Clair Swenson, Tim Gunier, Megan Gunier, Amy Schierbaum, Brad Schierbaum, Brooke Murphy, Lonnie Murphy, Nicole Friestad, Pam Lieser, Emily Friestad, Jason Carlson, and Jen Chelsen.

The Board was presented information from Jim Peters on the legality of the Governor's mask mandate, and the consequences that could come about if the school district chooses to not follow the mandate. The board heard comments from the visitors and the Board discussed the Start to School Plan.

Mrs. Elias presented the Consent Agenda which includes the June and July, 2021 Board of Education Open Minutes, July and August bills, signed Treasurer's Reports, Cash Receipts, payroll, Activity Account, Investments, Budgeting Report for both the months of June and July.

A motion was made by Brian Hatteberg and seconded by Josh Friestad to approve the Consent Agenda for June, 2021, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Scott Wallin, Eric Friestad, Kerry Carlson, Josh Friestad, Eric Andersen, Brian Hatteberg, and Seth Swenson.

A motion was made by Seth Swenson and seconded by Scott Wallin to approve the Consent Agenda for July, 2021, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Scott Wallin, Eric Friestad, Kerry Carlson, Josh Friestad, Eric Andersen, Brian Hatteberg, and Seth Swenson.

Superintendent Elias asked the Board to approve the Lisbon CCSD $\#90\ 2021-2022$ Start to School Plan, as presented.

A motion was made by Scott Wallin and seconded by Eric Andersen to approve the Start to School Plan, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Scott Wallin, Kerry Carlson, and Eric Andersen. Nays: Eric Friestad, Josh Friestad, Brian Hatteberg, and Seth Swenson.

A motion was made by Seth Swenson and seconded by Eric Andersen to approve the Golf program as an activity for Lisbon Grade School students, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Scott Wallin, Eric Friestad, Kerry Carlson, Josh Friestad, Eric Andersen, Brian Hatteberg, and Seth Swenson.

A motion was made by Scott Wallin and seconded by Kerry Carlson to approve Lexi Vande Hei as a Co-Cheer Coach with Kaley Hennessy, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Scott Wallin, Eric Friestad, Kerry Carlson, Josh Friestad, Eric Andersen, Brian Hatteberg, and Seth Swenson.

A motion was made by Kerry Carlson and seconded by Josh Friestad to accept the request for release of Land Cash Funds in the amount of \$1,344.21, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Scott Wallin, Eric Friestad, Kerry Carlson, Josh Friestad, Eric Andersen, Brian Hatteberg, and Seth Swenson.

A motion was made by Josh Friestad and seconded by Seth Swenson to accept the resignation of Christi Benson as the 2021 - 2022 4th grade teacher, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Scott Wallin, Eric Friestad, Kerry Carlson, Josh Friestad, Eric Andersen, Brian Hatteberg, and Seth Swenson.

A motion was made by Scott Wallin and seconded by Brian Hatteberg to accept the hiring of Lexi Vande Hei as the $2021 - 2022 4^{th}$ grade teacher, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Scott Wallin, Eric Friestad, Kerry Carlson, Josh Friestad, Eric Andersen, Brian Hatteberg, and Seth Swenson.

Mrs. Elias and the Board discussed the details of the tentative 2021 - 2022 Budget.

A motion was made by Kerry Carlson and seconded by Scott Wallin to set the budget hearing for September 13, 2021, at 7:00 P.M. to be followed by the normal monthly board meeting, as presented.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Scott Wallin, Eric Friestad, Kerry Carlson, Josh Friestad, Eric Andersen, Brian Hatteberg, and Seth Swenson.

A motion was made by Scott Wallin and seconded by Seth Swenson to adjourn the meeting at 11:00 P.M.

Upon roll call, the following vote was recorded: Ayes: Scott Wallin, Eric Friestad, Kerry Carlson, Josh Friestad, Eric Andersen, Brian Hatteberg, and Seth Swenson.

BOARD PRESIDENT	BOARD SECRETARY
DATE	DATE